Deactivate your Facebook
Deactivate your Facebook

Fed up? You can deactivate your Facebook account -- but the site doesn't let you go without a fight. Its parting page shows off photos of your friends and tells you how much they'll miss your social-networking presence.

Deactivating your account doesn't actually purge it from Facebook's servers. The company keeps your data stored in case you change your mind and want to come back.


Last updated September 29 2011: 3:03 PM ET
Join the Conversation